top of page

The Enneagram

The Enneagram is an ancient tool for understanding yourself and others and can be transformational. The word enneagram comes from the Greek words ennea (nine) and gammos (a written symbol). You have heard of the pentagram or five-pointed symbol - this has nine points.

Each point on the symbol represents a "type" and each type has a different way of thinking, experiencing, and acting in life. Some say we are born with a type and others believe we acquire them. Learning about your own type and others helps create a greater understanding of how you and others interact with each other and the world. I've seen many fill with light as they begin to honor and accept all of who they are as they learn about their specific type. The pattern of the enneagram transcends gender, religion, nationality, and culture. We are much more alike than we are different.

1 THE REFORMER Principled, Purposeful, Self-Controlled, Perfectionistic, Revolutionary

2 THE HELPER Loving, Generous, People-Pleasing, Possessive

3 THE ACHIEVER Adaptive, Excelling, Driven, Image-Conscious, Success Oriented

4 THE INDIVIDUALIST Sensitive, Withdrawn, Expressive, Dramatic, Temperamental

5 THE INVESTIGATOR Intense, Cerebral, Perceptive, Innovative, Secretive, and Isolated

6 THE LOYALIST Committed, Engaging, Responsible, Anxious/Suspicious

7 THE ENTHUSIAST Busy, Fun-Loving, Spontaneous, Versatile, Scattered

8 THE CHALLENGER Powerful, Dominating, Confident, Decisive, Confrontational

9 THE PEACEMAKER Easygoing, Receptive, Reassuring, Agreeable, Complacent

Each of us has a single dominant type that makes up our energy. The types have both positive and negative aspects and each have person within a type will have a similar core wound. This list is a very simplified explanation. As you study and become more familiar with the enneagram, you will see how they present as an energy more than a list of vocabulary words. Each type can have healthy, stagnant, and unhealthy levels to them. A type one at a healthy level will look very different from an unhealthy one.

The enneagram is portioned into three sections. These sections represent how these

types experience and process. The upper types rely heavily on the physical body. Information and understandings are felt physically. The right portions are emotional body-based. They feel life and experience life through emotion. The left are mind or mental body proficient. As you learn your type you will connect with how this is true for you.

The types next to each other are called the wings. We each have two wings but we will favor one of them. As a two with a three wing, my energy moves forward achieving with my helpfulness more than it stands back and perfects with careful intent. Learning which wing is our dominate will help us bring aspects from the other wing to bring more balance into our lives.

The lines of the enneagram have extreme value. They show us what we look like under stress and show us a pattern for getting out of it. Again, as a two, I move into a very different energy when I am under stress. Eight energy is very different from my own. In that energy, I confuse and push away others. They do not recognize how to help me and I may not be able to receive it. As I look to the four energy, I can help myself return to the true helper energy I am. It is also helpful to recognize when those you care about have moved into stress and how you can support them in returning to balance.

To learn more about your type click here and I will send you some personalized information.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page